Religious Restrictions

Be mindful of guests at events during times when people of certain religions are restricted from eating some foods or foods that are forbidden by some religions.


Forbidden: Alcohol

Fast: March 2-20. Bahå’is abstain from food and drink from sunrise to sunset.


Forbidden: None, but many people will not eat meat or fish.

Fast: Only for Buddhist monks.


Forbidden: None.

Fast: Catholics will refrain from consuming meat on Fridays of Lent and on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday.


Forbidden: Meat, fish, poultry and eggs. Some people also avoid garlic, onions, alcohol, tea and coffee.

Fast: Sundays, day of the new moon, the full moon, 10th and 11th of each month, the feast of Slvaratri, the 9th day of the month of Cheltra, the 8th day of Sravana, and days of eclipses, equinoxes, solstices, and conjunction of the planets.


Forbidden: Emulsifiers and stabilizers of animal origin, gelatin, non-kosher meat, birds of prey and non-kosher fish such as prawns, shellfish, turbot skate and sturgeon.

Fast: Yom Kippur and Tisha b’Av, during this time eating and drinking are forbidden for a 25-hour period. Partial fast days (no food or drink from sunrise to sunset) include Tzom Gedallah, Tenth of Tevet and Seventeenth of Tamuz, Ta’anit Ester and Ta’anit Bechorim.


Forbidden: Pork, lard or any pork substance, gelatin from animal source that is not halal, meat that is not slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way, meat coming from a lawful animal which died before slaughter, blood, any food or drink with alcohol, all carnivorous animals and birds of prey and some non-halal additives.

Fast: Voluntary fasting is common on Mondays and Thursdays. Ramadan is a mandatory fasting period. Muslims are also encouraged to fast 6 days during the month of Shawwal, on the 10th day of Muharram, and the 9th day of Zul Hijjah.

You can also find information on religious food restrictions by visiting the Webster University Library,

Come Dine Together

Author: Come Dine Together